Easiest Salisbury Steak And Potato Dinner

Today has been one of those days where you put on your gym clothes, but never actually work out. One of those days where it was a full time job just keeping your kids from killing each other. You know those days. I know you do. So tonights dinner had to be fast, simple, and something that would fill their cute little bellies and make them sleep REALLY good ūüôā And my husband, well even though he will usually eat anything I make for him, tonights dinner was also going to make his heart and belly especially happy.

So, with three dogs running around the house, two crazy kids fighting non-stop, and one husband about to be off work and headed home, I put on my apron and got to work. Nw, this is a super fast, super easy meal that really does fill a belly. And, its inexpensive and the ingredients are all things I generally have in the house anyway – so its always ready to be thrown together in a pinch.

First, as always, I cleaned up the kitchen and put on my apron, then gathered the materials I would be needing. I started by peeling and setting my potatoes to boil. For further details on how I like to make my potatoes, you can always go here.

FullSizeRender 21

Once those are going, I gathered up everything I needed for the salisbury steak. Lean ground beef (I am a stickler for organic, grass fed beef – but you don’t have to be if you don’t care!), ¬†bread crumbs, ketchup, mustard, onion powder, garlic powder, Worcestershire sauce, and two packs of brown gravy.

FullSizeRender 52.jpg

On the stove, I began to heat up my cast iron skillet – you can use any large skillet you have – and put some oil in it to grease the bottom while it heated on medium heat. While that was warming up, I combined all of the above ingredients, minus the gravy packets, in a medium mixing bowl with my hands. I like to use my hands to really squeeze the mixture to get everything nice and combined and to a good texture. Be sure to remove any rings before you do this, you don’t want raw meat particles handing out under any stones!

FullSizeRender 51

Once combined, I made 4 patties of the same size and placed on the heated skillet. I cooked the patties, pressing to keep flat, until they were cooked through and no longer pink in the center.

In a measuring cup and using a fork, I whisked together the gravy packets, water, ketchup, and Worcestershire. ¬†I then poured the gravy mix over the patties, reduced heat to medium low, and allowed the gravy to simmer and thicken. I like to scrape the bottom of the pan at this point too to get up some of those bits of flavor. Don’t ever let flavor go to waste stuck on the bottom of a pan!!

While the gravy is thickening I prepped my sides. Now…SHHHHH! don’t let the cat out of the bag, but this mama used some frozen steam-able green beans tonight. While I REALLY wanted to share my favorite way to cook fresh beans, I 1) didn’t have any here, and going to the store was big fat NO and 2) tonight was about being fast and easy. So I popped those bad boys in the microwave and set off mashing up my potatoes.

FullSizeRender 48

Ok, so the green beans are done, the potatoes are mashed, and the gravy is thick. Impressed with how fast and easy this is? I was too my first time! So grab your plate and enjoy your amazingly simple salisbury steak!

**I don’t use mushrooms – but you easily could! A lot of people really like it, and in the past I have definitely saut√©ed some to add to my dad’s plate in his gravy – but here, we don’t really like mushrooms so I leave them out.

FullSizeRender 50

Easiest Salisbury Steak and Potato Dinner

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Credit: Steak: Cincy Shopper   Potatoes: Me!

**all recipes were modified from original source to fit my wants and to use what I already had in my kitchen**

Ingredients

Steak

  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 1/3 cup bread crumbs
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 2 teaspoon¬†ketchup
  • 2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 teaspoon yellow mustard

Gravy

  • 2 packages brown gravy
  • 1¬†teaspoon ketchup
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 cups water

Potatoes

  • 4 small-medium potatoes, peeled and cut into 1 inch cubes
  • 6 Tablespoons butter
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 2 Tablespoons sour cream
  • salt and pepper to taste

Green beans – Frozen

Directions

  1. Peel and cut potatoes into 1 inch cubes. Place in medium pot, cover with water, and cook on high, uncovered until water comes to a boil. Once water boils, cover, turn off stove, and let sit while you cook the rest of the meal.
  2. Heat skillet (and oil – optional) on medium heat while making meat patties.
  3. In mixing bowl, use hands to combine meat, bread crumbs, onion powder, garlic powder, ketchup, mustard, and Worcestershire. Once combined well, use hands to form 4 even patties.
  4. In heated skillet, cook patties until no longer pink.
  5. Once patties are brown, whisk together gravy ingredients well and add to skillet. reduce heat and allow to simmer until gravy thickens.
  6. Go ahead and cook your frozen green beans. Mine took about 5 minutes.
  7. Drain potatoes and mash in butter, milk, and sour cream. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  8. Serve, and enjoy while the food is all hot!

Leave a Reply

